Chicken!

barrock1 (3)

I haven’t posted for a bit. I guess I’ve been distracted by all the politacal banter. I had an election block! So, here goes…

The term, “Chicken!” comes up a lot in conversations. It implies more than the species, I’m afraid.

We’ve all heard it since childhood. I wasn’t sure about the origin of the non species term, so…I looked it up.

The term “Chicken!” can be traced to Shakespeare’s time.

But I found this little tidbit about one way it came into the American vocabulary.

Chickening Out may come from 1864 Union Army enlistment in which a chicken was provided to each person who enlisted. He would take the chicken home, clean, dress, and cook it for dinner- no refrigeration in those days. The next day he came back to ship off for the Union Army.

Should he not come back his name was printed in the local paper-very shameful to the family name – not like today. A relative with the same family name could fulfill the Army contract by enlisting instead of the original person. The Union Army didn’t care as long as they got someone of worth.

We all remember the scenes from  movies,  American Graffiti, and Grease. The game of “Chicken” was played out in order to settle a score, impress a girl, or just to show off.

Anyway, I digress.

What I really wanted to talk about was…chickens!

whtsgl2

Growing up, our family raised chickens for their eggs and their meat. I’ve talked about chickens before, but I truly love chickens.

They go about their days pecking at the ground, seemingly not a care in the world. We don’t give them a lot of credit for their smarts.

Chickens have played many roles in our literature and society.

There’s “Chicken Little,” who ran around proclaiming “The sky was falling!” We attach that term to people who are always forecasting doom.

Henny Penny reminded us of what escaping hard work will get you, nothing!

Those Henpecked husbands, we all know a few!

Chicks, the guys all talk about!

Cock of the walk, we know who he is!

Cocky devils.

Chicken Lips!

But there is references of strength and loyalty in this species, as well.

We’ve all heard about “Mother hens.” I  remember a story that made an impact on me when I was a little girl. It was about a mother hen who spread her wings over her brood to protect them from a fire. It made such an impression on me, that I asked my Mom if she would do that for me. She said, “Sure!”

As a result my extensive Chicken research, I found these nuggets…

CHICKENS SEE BETTER THAN HUMANS

CHICKENS TEACH EACH OTHER

CHICKENS HAVE THEIR OWN LANGUAGE

CHICKENS KNOW WHO THEIR OWNER ARE

THE EARLIEST CHICKEN JOKE IS DATED IN 1847

CHICKENS ARE SMARTER THAN BABIES

CHICKENS DREAM

THE OLDEST CHICKEN LIVE TO 22 YEARS OLD

HENS COMBS GET LARGER JUST BEFORE THEY LAY

CHICKENS WERE THE FIRST TO HAVE THEIR DNA SEQUENCED

CHICKENS OUTNUMBER BY ROUGHLY 4 TO 1

DINOSAURS=CHICKENS

HENS TALK TO THEIR CHICKS BEFORE THEY HATCH

CHICKENS ARE SPEEDY

CHICKENS HAVE HIERARCHIES

CHICKENS LOVE PLAYING

DUST BATHS ARE CHICKENS BEST FRIENDS

DOMESTICATED CHICKENS CAME FROM ASIAN JUNGLE FOWL

CERTAIN BREEDS ARE ABOUT TO BECOME EXTINCT

A DOZEN EGGS NEEDS FOUR POUNDS OF FEED

There now…I’ll bet you forgot all about the election!

rhodeislandred-web-2

Go hug a chicken!

http://www.thehappychickencoop.com/20-surprising-things-you-didnt-know-about-chickens/gets…

KRE

Leave a Reply

