Hardware Galore!

 

https://www.kshs.org/publicat/heritage/2005spring_shaffer.pdf

Yesterday, my husband and I made a trek to Halstead, Kansas. We had breakfast at Al’s Place. A fairly new establishment on Main Street.

 

IMG_1605[2]

IMG_1597[3]

                            That’s Al, owner and Chef,  and one of the servers.

The entrees are generous, fresh, and very reasonably priced. I hope to try lunch there next week. We wish him and his family continued success.

We then headed across the street to one of the oldest hardware stores in the U.S., The Old Hardware Store.

IMG_1638[2]

IMG_1634[2]

I don’t know what I was expecting, a few nuts and bolts, gardening supplies…when I walked in I was bowled over by the amount, variety, and uniqueness of this place.

The owners have keep the integrity of this old building– it’s like stepping back in time when you enter.

The smell, sights and ambiance of a bygone era wrap around the senses, with each step.

 

IMG_1623[2]

 

IMG_1633[2]

 

 

IMG_1606[2]

I have never seen such a plethora of door knobs, handles, cabinet pulls, crocks…if it’s under the definition of hardware,  it’s here!

IMG_1610[2]

Oh yes, and there were nuts and bolts of every size and description. These  in particular were serving as the  pieces for a Checker game.

IMG_1607[2]

 

IMG_1612[2]

Can’t you just imagine a group of men gathered around the wood stove engaged in a friendly game of Checkers, or just talking about the crops and weather.

It took me back to the days when hardware stores were the heart of many cities and small towns… a place to go for the needs of every household in America.

I found this pie cooling rack, it’s made of wire and a little hard to see, but I may have to go back and get it!

My grandfather used to smoke Prince Albert tobacco in his pipe. If I try hard enough, I can conjure up the smooth fragrance drifting through the air.

IMG_1614[2]

I saw so many things I could use in this place. But, I’ll have to make room at home, first!

If you’re looking for a fun day trip, take in the town of Halstead, Kansas, and take in the sights.

Oh, and a fun fact you may not know about Halstead…the movie Picnic, with William Holden and Kim Novak was filmed in this scenic small hamlet.

https://www.kshs.org/publicat/heritage/2005spring_shaffer.pdf

KRE

Leave a Reply

