HAPPY MOTHER, MAMA, MOM, MOMMY, MA, DAY!

mom at 17

My Mother rarely received gifts from my Dad—Mother’s Day was no different. He was Scotch, Irish and wasn’t comfortable with showing affection in front of people.

My Mom, however, was very demonstrative… hugging, kissing and pinching cheeks whenever she had the chance.

As a child, I tried to give her things on Mother’s Day… a bouquet of flowers picked from her yard, a handmade card or drawing, but I always felt bad because the other mothers, who attended the First Baptist Church, strutted proudly with their corsage pinned securely to their bosoms.

My mom never had a corsage. As children, we hadn’t a way or means, and my dad would have never thought of it.

She would come home from church, like always, and fix a delicious Sunday meal for all of us.

In later years, we adult children would make it a point to send cards and gifts. Because I lived out-of-state, it was rare that I got to be with her on that special day.

Mom was a giving soul, not only to her family, but to friends and acquaintances as well.

She never knew a stranger, and when she’d go to town, everyone knew her.

They would greet her with a “Hi Rosie!”

mom with me, 1946

She was selfless when it came to her children.

Mom taught us many things, but her capacity for compassion–I remember most!

We fought, and had disagreements, as teenagers do with their mothers.

I thought I knew so much more than she did. As I got older I realized how smart she’d gotten!

Her outstretched arms and wide smile always greeted me. Whether I was coming home after several months, or leaving, she’d be there, at the door or on the porch… ready to give me a big hug and loving kiss.

image001

I don’t have my mom with me any longer, but I have the memories tucked away, and I pull them out whenever I want!

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

KRE

Leave a Reply

