Five Eggs And A Gerainium

This familiar looking plant, in this hanging basket, is a geranium.

 

IMG_20140731_180709_419

What’s interesting about this geranium is, it’s also the home of a bird…a soon to be, mother-bird.

Last year I had hanging baskets and a sweet mama bird laid her eggs in it too! It was so much fun watching the day-to-day developments, so naturally I was thrilled when this year’s basket became a bird nursery, also!

I’m not quite sure what kind of bird it is, I think it might be a finch, she doesn’t hold still long enough for me to get a good photo. Every time the front door opens she’s out of the nest like a shot!

 

IMG_20140731_180641_765

 

My grandmother always said if I touched or interrupted a bird’s nest it wouldn’t come back, and the babies would starve.

My granny would be happy to know I’m very careful when I water the geranium, I don’t want to flood the perfect little bed she’s created. It’s quite a feat to only water enough.

And, about this nest…it is one of the most perfect creations I’ve ever seen.

It is a woven miracle, a piece of art that would shame any weaver!

Nature is so…so…wonderful!

I’ll keep you abreast of nesting news!

KRE

Leave a Reply

