Butterfly

The Monarchs and other butterflies a making their way to my flower beds so it inspired me to write this poem. I also posted this on my poetry page.

 

 

10486620_10203105888221246_1750262648_n

Butterfly

Floating on the warm summer air

Where have you been

 Where will you go

Does it even matter

Do you really care

Like the artist palette

Your patterned wings

Dazzle my human eye

So perfect in design

 Float toward an azure sky

Your delicate tongue

Extracts the nectar

How freeing it must be

To travel by sole or throng

To linger short or long

No mortal tongue

Shall quote your beauty

No canvas

Fit for your

Display

Fly from me

So that I might

Ponder thee

 And wait

       For your ethereal return

Karen Ross Epp

2014

Leave a Reply

