Rain

We’ve had a very dry spring here in the central plains, Kansas to be exact, as you’ve probably heard on the many news casts about our countries weather.

Since I’ve moved to Kansas I’ve learned a few things about this climate. I’ve learned that you can’t just stick a plant in the ground, and expect it to grow without a little water now and then.

I’ve learned that we have the most beautiful sunsets in the world. Nothing but earth and sky, depending on where you’re located. The landscape is not cluttered with trees, and that’s the way my husband, for one, likes it. He loves the open expanses of prairie and sky, and he paints it often as some of you already know. http://www.philepp.com/Paintings/paintings.htm

I grew up however with trees and more tress, forests and creek beds, and rolling green hills—wonderful places to explore. We had plenty of rain and I don’t think my parents ever watered anything, except potted plants. Growing things was easy in Iowa. The fertile black soil seemed to emit elements that you could almost eat!

I know that sounded strange, but it’s the truth!

My mother always had a beautiful garden and plenty of produce each year to stock our cellar. I took it for granted that that’s the way it was, everywhere.

When I moved to Kansas, many moon ago, it took me awhile to understand that gardening would take a little more work than just planting the seeds, then watch them grow. Where we live, at the edge of the Flint Hill, the soil is rocky and the top soil is shallow. I’ve had to except what works and what doesn’t. Our hot dry winds suck the moisture from the ground in a days’ time, and then it out with the hose.

This spring, we’ve had little rain and horrendous winds that turned the sky a reddish-brown and settled on every stick of furniture in my house. I think most of Oklahoma blew up our way. That combination of the elements are not kind to plants.

So over the years I’ve turned to plant hearty plants and trees than can accommodate our climate. We’ve lost many trees in our yard during the past three years because of the lack of rain. We planted silver maples which fare poorly on our hilltop home. I love cottonwoods, but they grow best near water. There are so many new varieties of trees, shrubs and flowering plants that are available now, and I’m excited to try them.

Last week in was in the triple digits for a few days and we turned the air conditioning on, this morning it was 40 and we turned the furnace back on.

What in the wacky world of weather is goin’ on?

So yesterday I got to take this picture. Ain’t it purdy!

 10364317_10202776447345430_121040888_n

You can water and water, but there’s nothing like the sweet warm drops from heaven to make things pop!

KRE

 

One thought on “Rain

Leave a Reply

